Tater’s Cafe

Dallas, OR is a little nugget of a town west of the Willamette Valley. It is surrounded by lush hills filled with vineyards and wide, open fields, though it is not a place that loudly entices outsiders on their way out towards the beach. If one were to stop, however, and take a small detour off Highway 22 into the downtown area of Dallas, they would find a small variety of restaurants and antique shops. It’s quite charming.

Today, I’m spotlighting Tater’s Cafe. I feel like I’ve found a place as close to Luke’s Diner as I will ever get. I’m not talking about those cafes across the country that masqueraded as the famous diner prior to “A Year in the Life” making its debut. I mean that when I walked in, I started looking for a big guy wearing a backwards baseball hat and flannel shirt.

Take a look for yourself:

0517170651a_HDR

Not a replica, but you can see the homey atmosphere. I don’t believe that this place was a hardware store before now, but it’s fun to pretend. We were there early enough where we had our pick of tables. I suggested that we sit at opposite ends of the counter and play bagel hockey but that didn’t go over well.

IMG_20170517_093416_724

I had the Seafood Benedict (I’m addicted to hollandaise) and some sausage links, and my honey had Biscuits & Gravy. The portions were huge and delicious, the coffee cups were mismatched, and their special was blackberry pancakes.

Dallas will be hosting events ahead of the 2017 Solar Eclipse. If you find yourself in need of some breakfast ahead of time, or you just want to get your Gilmore Girls vibe on, this would be a great place to check out.

3 thoughts on “Tater’s Cafe

Leave a Reply

